Petal Skirt Scrap Apron – An UFFDA Day

A week or so ago, I found a wonderful FREE PATTERN at http://www.sew4home.com/projects/kitchen-linens/fat-quarter-apron.  So cute, I had to try it!  Here’s my first one:

My first attempt-YEAH-success!

My first attempt-YEAH-success!

Inspired by my success, I thought I’d modify a bit and make the lower portion of the apron using some of my fabric ‘petals’ that I make half aprons from:

Petal style retro half apron - one of many I did recently.

Petal style retro half apron – one of many I did recently.

https://www.etsy.com/listing/123876293/red-and-green-retro-kitchen-petal-style.  I chose my petals in reds and got started.

My original choice for the skirt of my pieced apron.

My original choice for the skirt of my pieced apron.

Then the UFFDA portion of the day kicked in!  For the uninformed, “UFFDA” is a precursor of the modern text language OMG.  It can mean anything from ‘holy cow’, to ‘I can’t believe this’, to ‘you’ve GOT to be kidding!”    First, I got my petals mixed up and sewed them in the wrong order.  Then I had to rip those seams (double, because they were French seams).  Then I decided it needed to be wider, so I found some additional coordinating petals.  Sewed one of those on backwards – French seams are tricky for me.  More ripping and this time – because I got impatient – I ripped both seam AND fabric!!!  UFFDA.  No way to repair and no more of that fabric available, even after tearing apart my scrap bin.  MORE ripping x2!!  Double UFFDA.  Found some more fabric and added in apple pies to finish the skirt.  Got it all together eventually, but only because it was me vs. the apron at that point and I HAD to win!  Good grief (UFFDA) – it’s cute in the long run, but wowzer, it was definitely an UFFDA apron!IMGP2169

Leave a Reply

