It’s CURTAINS for you!

When my Dad passed away, I found a set of polka dot cafe curtains and valances in the miscellaneous stuff he had stored.  Where they came from, I have no idea, because I don’t remember there EVER having been such  curtains in our home.  At any rate, I snagged them, thinking I could use them somehow in an apron.

I did a couple of aprons with rows of the narrower valances used on the bottom – these were about 5″ long and pre-ruffled.

My first 'curtain valance' apron!

My first ‘curtain valance’ apron!

Later, I used one of the longer ruffles (about 8 or 9″, I think) on a different style apron.

Take #2 - I used a deeper ruffle on the hem of this apron.

Take #2 – I used a deeper ruffle on the hem of this apron.

My girlfriend last Christmas begged me to make aprons from her mom’s curtains and I couldn’t say no (she’s the loyal lackey who helps me with all my craft fairs).  Her curtains were pink cotton Priscillas with yards of ruffled eyelet available.  I did one for my friend and one for her mother (whose curtains I was using).

With a paisley print.

With a paisley print.

With a large floral print

With a large floral print

Then I also did one for Karen’s daughter and granddaughter.  All in all, there are 4 generations of aprons created using Great Grandma’s curtains!  Fun.

799-Black and White Floral with triple ruffle and V yoke-SOLD Mother/Daughter Aprons

Leave a Reply

