Recycle-Reinvent-Reuse

I inherited some wonderful vintage linens and handwork pieces that I love!  Those that are still in good shape, I make an effort to really use – I have a couple of Grandma’s doilies out and I use embroidered pillowcases whenever and where ever I can.  I love old tablecloths, hankies, dresser scarves and the like.  BUT, some of the pieces, while beautiful, were in poor shape due to holes, stains, or other problems.  Still, I couldn’t quite part with them and wanted to find a way to use them.  I made a few pillows incorporating beautifully embroidered scraps and, when I started making aprons, I experimented briefly with using these pieces.

One of the first used pieces from a small tablecloth to adorn the pockets of a retro-style bib apron.

A bit of rick rack - a little vintage embroidery!

A bit of rick rack – a little vintage embroidery!

Pocket detail.

Pocket detail.

I later used the remaining corner of the same apron in a similar fashion on a smock apron.

Embroidery piece appliqued onto smock pocket

Embroidery piece appliqued onto smock pocket

A larger tablecloth had several stains that weren’t coming out, so it became a half apron.

Tablecloth/apron!

Tablecloth/apron!

One thought on “Recycle-Reinvent-Reuse

  1. Pingback: Reversible, Full-Coverage Child’s Apron, Smock or Jumbo Bib {Free Pattern & Tutorial} « WHOLE LIVING WEB MAGAZINE FREE CRAFTS & TUTORIALS

Leave a Reply

