Vintage Christmas-The Cabbage Patch Kids

Myrtle Ema and Little Lulu ready for our cold weather!

Myrtle Ema and Little Lulu ready for our cold weather!


Standing in line at the Post Office this a.m., mailing aprons around the country, a man was standing in line with a fairly big box. The clerk kindly offered to let him set it at the counter until his turn, but he said it wasn’t heavy, it was just dolls . . . Then, he elaborated . . .Costco had a shipment of the 30th anniversary Cabbage Patch Dolls and he got two that he was mailing to his granddaughters.

“I LOVE CABBAGE PATCHES!!!” I exclaim, and proceed to bore him with how many still live with me (5), how their clothes are getting kind of ratty, how my granddaughter and I still play with them, etc., etc.

The kids: Brenda Louisa, Bunson Honeydew, Little Lulu, Stephi Carmella and Myrtle Ema

The kids: Brenda Louisa, Bunson Honeydew, Little Lulu, Stephi Carmella and Myrtle Ema


Naturally, I ran home and got the kids out for a lookie loo, dressed them all up for a photo shoot and went through their wardrobes (some of the remaining clothes HAVE seen better days, plus I need to make some easy on/easy off clothes that a 2 year old can handle, so that I don’t have to be involved in all the wardrobe changes).
Once we had Cabbage Patches, I sewed outfits for them like crazy!

Once we had Cabbage Patches, I sewed outfits for them like crazy!


Myrtle Ema and Lulu are MINE!!! I have Myrtle’s birth certificate and adoption certificate but Lulu was a true adoption – she came from the thrift store. I couldn’t stand the thought that someone had given her up, so she came home with me, got a whole new wardrobe and a big sister, too!

My granddaughter, Penelope, loves playing ‘babies’ and we spend hours putting them to bed, feeding them and, of course, changing their outfits. When Penny finds out there are Cabbage Patch bunny slippers, she’s going to go a little crazy, I think!
They now, of course, have their official website:
http://www.cabbagepatchkids.com/
AND their Facebook Fan page (Yes, of course I’m a fan!!!)
https://www.facebook.com/cabbagepatchkidsfan

Leave a Reply

