Chicken Love

As you have learned (if you’ve read any of my ramblings), I can’t seem to throw things away. Therefore, I’m always on the lookout for something to make from the (400 lbs., give or take of) scraps I’ve been saving.

I LOVE chicken prints – maybe because the grandkids used to raise chickens – maybe just because they’re semi-wonderful. At any rate, I have lots of chicken fabric scraps.

I toyed with the idea of a chicken crazy quilt, but then I sobered up – when would I find the time for THAT project??!! Then I thought about the same idea on a smaller scale – what about placemats??? GENIUS!

One small detail was that I’ve never made a crazy quilt. I had a vague idea of the process and I checked a couple of tutorials and asked my 95 year old sewing advisor and then I just sort of jumped in! Hey, it’s not like I don’t have more scraps if this didn’t work out . . .

It was FUN!!! Didn’t take long (love that). I made a few mistakes; they’re not exactly ‘fair quality’ but they’re not bad. I even learned how to use the fancy stitching on my sewing machine!

Leave a Reply

